Gnocchi and Week-End Bake

My least favourite moment in the week is when Friday afternoon rolls around ( did I ACTUALLY just say that ?! ), I peer behind the fingerprinted stainless steel fridge door to see a whole shelf of 2/3 day left-overs. Fridays are my days. My clear outs. My rid the clutter days (food is no exception) and move on to a new fresh start for the beginning of the week. This week I found myself with some very interesting things to mix together! 🙂

  1. Gnocchi – if you don’t know what gnocchi is yet, you 100% are not alone. I tried it for the first time about a month ago, and wondered where it had been all my life. It’d a potato based puff pastry that takes about 3 minutes to cook in total. boil some water, drop it in, when they rise you’re ready to bounce. It’s actually that easy.
  2. Mixed Veggies
  3. Cooked Chicken
  4. Cooked Beef (few pieces left from a roast)
  5. Leftover pasta sauce – go ahead get crazy! I actually mixed an alfredo sauce with a roasted red pepper sauce for this dish as I had two jars left in the fridge. Now’s the time to get ‘er done! 

  6. I fried up a couple pieces of bacon.. because well.. who doesn’t love bacon?! and graded about 3/4 cup of cheese.

gnocchi ingredients


The hardest part is remembering there is no hard part to this dish. .

Take all the above ingredients except for the cheese (or the variations you have come up with 😉 ) and add them one at a time into a large bowl mixing as you go.

Toss this baby into an oven safe cassarole dish and add that cheeeeeeeeessey goodness.

gnocchi2

Guys. Seriously. It can’t get much easier and quicker then that!
Pop this crazy delicious montage of your week longs hard work into the oven for about 20 minutes at 400° and then flip it to to broil for about 2-3 minutes to let that cheese get a good melt.

At this point there is nothing left to do but dive in, and congratulate yourself on a simple, delicious, quick and productive homestyle meal 🙂

gnocchi3

…it didn’t last long in This House 😉

Until next time!
-J


Recipe adapted from insidebrucrewlife
Leave a Reply

