What Left Over Caramel?

on

If you’re anything like me it’s unlikely you have any of yesterdays salted caramel left over. Like I said before, it’s a pure weakness of mine, and as soon as it was finished cooling I went straight for the apples!! tumblr_ns8y023zBv1t1p5ggo1_500

IMG_5261

I mean common.. fresh juicy apples.. warm caramel.. who could go wrong – not this girl! Though, I held back and did manage to save some (somehow).

So what does one do with delicious left over salted caramel you might ask!? Well I’m a bit of a sweet tooth myself so the obvious answer to me was make candy with it! Here’s a simple salted caramel bark that really takes no time at all to whip up!

 


SALTED CARAMEL BARK

  • pretzels of your choice
  • chocolate (I prefer Merckens wafers) Available at BulkBarn or McCalls
  • caramel Sauce
  • salt to taste (I prefer sea salt)
  • parchment or wax paper
  1. Crush the pretzels and set aside.
  2. Melt some chocolate (30 second intervals, stirring in-between)
  3. Lay a thin layer of chocolate on parchment or wax paper (let cool).
  4. Pour a thin layer of caramel sauce over the layer of cooled chocolate.
  5. Immediately add the crushed/broken pretzel pieced into caramel.
  6. Add an additional thin layer of chocolate on top. This can be sporadic and doesn’t need to cover the entire top of the bark. Be Creative 🙂
  7. Let it completely cool. You can put it in the fridge for 10/15 minutes to speed up the process if you’d like. 
  8. Cut, Serve and Enjoy!

 

Love the sweeter things in life, I sure do!
-J

Leave a Reply

